COLLEGE COUNCIL – October 21, 2011 CC-127 in Bill Brod Community Center • 12-1:30pm

TOPIC / PRESENTER	KEY POINTS / NEXT STEPS (Action)
Approval of previous minutes	Motion to approve & 2nd, the 10.7.11 minutes approved
Presenter: Cochran	
Foundations of Excellence initiative Presenter: Marks and Sprehe	 Brenda Marks and Tara Sprehe presented the Foundations of Excellence program. This is a yearlong study of the college's existing "new student experiences" and results in a plan for increased student success and retention. The tasks force is lead by Phillip King, Tara Sprehe and Brenda Marks. There will be two surveys taken; one by students and one by faculty/staff. The results of this survey will give a base line for current conditions. This self- study will result in both simple and complex recommendations to better shape the first year experience for all students and CCC. The results, if similar to other FoE schools, could result in an 8% increase in retention. Ms. Marks concluded by requesting members for the Self Study committees (approximately an 8-hour commitment). CCC's FoE Steering Committee members include Matthew Altman, Dave Arter, Michelle Baker, Sean Briare, Pam Clem, Andrea Csavajada, Rochelle Dawn, Phillip King, Brenda Marks, and Tara Sprehe.
Student Counseling Services Changes Presenter: Martinez and Olsen	 Lupe Martinez discussed recent changes to the Counseling and Advising Area, in the past CCC had 6 full time counseling positions, now reduced to three: Lupe Martinez and Casey Sims and a position to be filled this winter. In addition, there are three part-time counselors on campus. Lupe also shared the student of concern flow chart that is available to staff on the web site Sunny Olsen introduced herself as the new Jessica and is acting as Lead Advisor in the Community Center. Sunny also introduced recently hired advisors; Dustin Bare will be 50% outreach/50% advising and Enrique Fererra 100% bi-lingual advisor.
Admin. Reg. review process Presenter: Truesdell	 President Truesdell opened her time at College Council discussing the recent ruling by the Secretary of State's office finding that the college violated campaign election law prior to the May 2011 bond election. Truesdell discussed each violation and reiterated the steps taken at the time to ensure the college was in compliance with election law. While disappointed with the ruling, Truesdell stated the fines would be paid (not with college money) and the college would move on. President Truesdell then shared with the College Council the process for approval of both Board Policies and Administrative Regulations. Both require a 1st and 2nd reading at College Council prior to adoption by the Board (for Board Policies) or approval by Presidents Council (for Administrative Regulations).

Admin Reg. cont.	 Truesdell also shared the October and November 2011 calendar that shows timelines for review of Administrative Regulations coming to College Council on November 4 and 18th.
Exempt Update Presenter: Cochran	ASC/Exempt preparing for 11/16 classified appreciation dessert
Faculty Update Presenter:	No report
PT Faculty Presenter:	Not present
Classified –Update Presenter:	Not present
ASG Update Presenter: Elizabeth Breton	 Blood drive scheduled for 10/24 &25 Student Nurses Association BBQ 10/31/11 Food drive coming up

UPCOMING MEETING DATES FOR 2010/11 ACADEMIC YEAR:

11/4, 11/18, 12/2,1/20, 2/3, 2/17, 3/2 3/16, 4/6 4/20, 5/4, 5/18, 6/1

FIND COLLEGE COUNCIL MINUTES at F:\1MINUTES\College Council\11-12

PRESENT: Bob Cochran (chair), Tamara Barry-Peebles, Cyndi Andrews, Jeff McAlpine, Elizabeth Cole, Sue Caldera, Blanie Gobler, Joanne Truesdell, Steffen Moller, Sarah Hoover, Camilo Sanchez, Cheryl Tallman, Lupe Martinez, Sonny Olsen, Cynthia Risan, Mindy Brown, Elizabeth Breton, Angel Oldaz, Keoni McHone, Tara Sprehe, Brenda Marks, Terry Mackey Adam Hall, Elizabeth Howley, Pat Wiggins

COLLEGE COUNCIL MEMBERS: Bob Cochran (chair), Mickey Yeager, Steve Beining, Cheryl Tallman, Andy Vasquez, Shelly Tracy, Sarah Hoover, Melissa Jones, Dave Arter, Kim Carey, Mary Collins, Shelley Shaw, Keoni McHone, Jeff McAlpine, Adam Hall, Pat Wiggins, Miguel Cardenas, Paula Hamm, Sue Caldera, Tiffanie Clifford, Tamera Barry, Vicki Smith *all association presidents *all deans